North Dakota Continuing Education Courses

Home / Continuing Education / North Dakota

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type

North Dakota Continuing Education Requirements:

Total Hours Mandatory Elective Hours
You Need: 9 0 9
We Offer: 9 0 9

North Dakota Requirement Detail for Real Estate Continuing Education

Continuing Education and License Renewal Date: 11/15 each year

Continuing Education Hours required by the state:

  • 9 Elective Hours

Note: For License Renewal Period November 16, 2020 - November 15, 2021, there is NO mandatory course topic.

Max Hours in 24-Hour Period: North Dakota Real Estate Licensees are not allowed to complete more than 8 hours of courses in a 24-hour period. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

The CE Shop's Offering: 

  • 9 Elective Hours

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the North Dakota Real Estate Commission. The state requires schools to report course completions within five to seven days from the course completion date. This process does not take the place of licensees providing their Certificates of Completion to the state. It is the licensee's obligation to submit copies of their certificates to the Commission. 

Course Completion: A student must complete the distance education course within one year of the date of enrollment.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least a 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass. 

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Additional Licensing Information:

License Renewal Process: All licenses expire on December 31st of each year and licensees are required to apply for renewal by November 15th. The process to renew in this state is to log in to the licensing system online and follow the prompts to renew here.  

First-Time Renewals for Sales Licenses

Post-Licensing: New Salesperson licensees need to complete 15 post-licensure hours approved by the Commission within one year after initial licensure as a Salesperson. The 15 hours are elective CE hours. Please select 'Post-Licensing' under the list above to see our Post-Licensing course offering.

Note: Any salesperson applicant, upon successful completion of the required postlicensing education requirement, is exempt from the continuing education requirement for only the continuing education period during which the salesperson applicant successfully completed the postlicensing education.

North Dakota Real Estate Commission

Street Address: 1110 College Drive, Suite 207, Bismark, ND 58501

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 727, Bismarck, ND 58502-0727

Telephone: 701.328.9749

Fax: 701.328.9750

License Renewal Website

License Lookup Website

Contact ND Real Estate Commission